New steering group members announced for the Getting to Zero programme

2021-02-04T09:22:18+00:00 February 4th, 2021|Getting to zero, Onward|

This morning we are delighted to announce the addition of Sue Ferns, from the trade union Prospect, and Steve Waygood, from Aviva, to our steering group for the Getting to Zero programme. We are thrilled to have two people with such far-reaching expertise joining the group and we look forward to working with them throughout the programme. Please find biographies of them below:


Steve Waygood

Steve chairs the ESG Senior Leadership Team at Aviva Investors, and is a member of the CIO Investment Committee. Steve founded Aviva Investors’ Sustainable Finance Centre for Excellence. This Centre seeks to transform capital markets so that they support long term sustainable development. He also co-founded the Corporate Human Rights Benchmark, the World Benchmarking Alliance, the UN Sustainable Stock Exchange Initiative and the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Coalition. He was also part of the group that helped write the Principles for Responsible Investment. 

Steve was appointed to the European Commission High-Level Expert Group on Sustainable Finance, and the UK Green Finance Taskforce, and is also a member of the Financial Stability Board Taskforce on Climate Related Financial Disclosure (TCFD).

Steve started his career at the World Wide Fund for Nature in 1995, where he chaired the business and industry core group and oversaw the ethical investment policy. He also served on the board of the UK Sustainable Investment & Finance association (UKSIF) from 2003 to 2010, serving as its Chairman from 2006.

Steve has a PhD in Sustainable Finance from the University of Surrey. He is an Honorary Senior Visiting Fellow at City’s Business School, and also teaches at the University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership. His work became a case study in the Harvard Business School MBA in 2012.

Steve has been nominated by the Financial Times as one of their ‘warriors of climate change’. He has received awards from Brummell, the Chamber of Commerce, the City of London, Financial News, the United Nations Foundation, Yale and Harvard. He has also spoken at the World Economic Forum, Columbia University, the London School of Economics, the Singapore  Exchange and 10 Downing Street.


Sue Ferns

Sue is Senior Deputy General Secretary at Prospect, the union for professionals. Her responsibilities in Prospect include leading the union’s work across the energy sector,
climate change and gender equality.

Sue is a member of the TUC General Council and Executive Committee, chair of the Women’s Committee and a TUC Aid Trustee. She is the General Council’s lead on environment and sustainability, chair of the Trade Union Sustainable Development Advisory Committee (TUSDAC), and a member of the government’s green jobs taskforce. She is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development, Chair of Unions 21, a member of the Institute for Future of Work’s Equality Taskforce and a board member of Talent Retention Solutions (TRS).


The full steering group as it stands is as follows:

  1. Dame Caroline Spelman, Former Environment Secretary (co-chair)
  2. Caroline Flint, Former Energy and Climate Change Secretary (co-chair)
  3. Ruth Edwards MP
  4. Sam Hall, Conservative Environment Network
  5. Richard Howard, Aurora Energy Research
  6. Ben Caldecott, Oxford Sustainable Finance Programme, University of Oxford
  7. Guy Newey, Energy Systems Catapult
  8. Melanie Onn, Renewable UK and former MP for Great Grimsby
  9. Daniel Hale, Purpose Foundation
  10. Joss Garman, European Climate Foundation
  11. Michelle You, LocalGlobe
  12. Sue Ferns, Prospect
  13. Steve Waygood, Aviva
  14. Will Tanner, Onward

If you would like to learn more about the Getting to Zero programme, get in touch with [email protected]